• Home
  • /
  • golf
  • /
  • Marianne Skarpnord wins Players’ Player of the Year Award

Marianne Skarpnord wins Players’ Player of the Year Award

Marianne Skarpnord was voted as the Players’ Player of the Year for 2019, following a superb season, which included a victory and nine further top-10 finishes.

The 33-year-old from Østfold won the Pacific Bay Resort Australian Ladies Classic – Bonville, in 2019 and posted nine further top-10 finishes from 18 appearances on the LET.

She opened the season with a runner-up finish in the Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open in Abu Dhabi, then won on her second start, at Bonville Golf Resort, in New South Wales.

Further top 10s followed in the Lalla Meryem Cup, Omega Dubai Moonlight Classic, La Reserva de Sotogrande Invitational, Jabra Ladies Open, Ladies European Thailand Championship, Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open, before another runner-up finish in the Hero Women’s Indian Open and then tied seventh in the Andalucía Costa del Sol Open de España.

She finished tied 34th in the Magical Kenyan Ladies Open presented by Safaricom’s M-pesa despite suffering from an inflamed left ankle and right index finger.

At the end-of-year awards, she said: “I want to say thank you to everyone who voted for me. This means more than you know.”

Skarpnord finished second on the order of merit, after rookie Esther Henseleit won the season-ending Magical Kenya Ladies Open and she added: “I am very disappointed not to win the order of merit, but after the season that Esther has had, I really think she deserves it and congratulations to her. It has been extremely impressive and she is a star of the future.”

Players’ Player of the Year

1995 Annika Sorenstam

1996 Laura Davies

1997 Alison Nicholas

1998 Sophie Gustafson

1999 Laura Davies

2000 Sophie Gustafson

2001 Raquel Carriedo

2002 Annika Sorenstam

2003 Sophie Gustafson

2004 Stephanie Arricau

2005 Iben Tinning

2006 Gwladys Nocera

2007 Bettina Hauert

2008 Gwladys Nocera

2009 Catriona Matthew

2010 Lee-Anne Pace

2011 Caroline Hedwall

2012 Carlota Ciganda

2013 Lee-Anne Pace

2014 Charley Hull

2015 Nicole Broch Larsen

2016 Beth Allen

2017 Georgia Hall

2018 Georgia Hall

2019 Marianne Skarpnord

Source: Ladies Eurpean Tour