• Home
  • /
  • golf
  • /
  • Who were the big winners at LET Q School?

Who were the big winners at LET Q School?

The LET’s Q School awarded 20 players their tour cards this weekend and it was a home favourite who finished on top

Amy Boulden was the big victor at the Ladies European Tour’s Q School as she won the event on 10-under, three shots ahead of Magdelena Simmermacher and Alison Muirhead.

The Welshwoman who has previously been a member of the LET endured the brutal 90-hole contest to gain her card on the new and improved circuit and will hope that she can carry this form into the season.

Her previous best finish on the main tour was back in 2014 where she finished runner-up to Azahara Munoz.

Last season, her focus was on the Symetra Tour is the United States and this led to her being unable to maintain her card in Europe.

“I’m relieved. It’s always such a tough week coming back to Q School,” she said. “I decided to play a bit on the Symetra Tour last year and didn’t manage to keep my LET card from the sic events in which I played, so I was always planning to come back. I love playing in Europe, but you feel a bit of extra pressure once you’ve had your card and then lose it. It’s a big relief to have it.”

21-year-old Muirhead from Scotland also secured her card after finishing in the top spot at the pre-qualifying event, which was in fact her first event as a professional.

She said, “It feels amazing. I never expected this to be the outcome.”

Another story of the day was Simmermacher’s who will become just the second Argentinian to hold an LET tour card. She shot a final round of 68 to seal her spot and makes the step up from the LET Access Series.

“I can’t believe it… Every single part of my game was good and I just kept trusting it. It’s really exciting that I’m going to play a full season,” said the 23-year-old.

LET Q School card winners

  • Amy Boulden
  • Magdelena Simmermacher
  • Alison Muirhead
  • Kim Metraux
  • Alice Hewson
  • Maiken Bing Paulsen
  • Sarina Schmit
  • Casandra Danielle Hall
  • Nobuhle Diamini
  • Anne-Charlotte Mora
  • Pia Babnik
  • Filippa Moork
  • Carolin Kauffmann
  • Morgane Metraux
  • Sophie Hausmann
  • EunJung Ji
  • Gudrun Bjorgvinsdottir
  • Tiia Koivisto
  • Charlotte Thomas
  • Monique Smit

Source: National Club Golf